Basel Sinfonietta — Female Exploration

Stadtcasino Basel
© marc doradzillo
Sunday, 09 June

To close the season, the Basel Sinfonietta presents a program of impressive music by five female composers, with which the orchestra presented itself a few days earlier at the avant-garde music festival "Klang" in Copenhagen. In her orchestral work "Endless Sediments," German composer Isabel Mundry explores the traces of temporally or spatially distant music. Reflections on the relationships between time, space, and perception flow into her differentiated sound language in a variety of ways.
The young Barcelona-born composer Gemma Ragués Pujol has been commissioned by the Basel Sinfonietta to write a new work in which the orchestra echoes or colors the words of a narrator to create a cubist piece in which rhythm and text play a leading role.
The young Swedish-Danish composer Ylva Lund Bergner was commissioned by the Copenhagen Sound Festival to write "F-Low-M" for the Basel Sinfonietta, a work for orchestra inspired by the interplay between wind and trees.
In "Considering Icarus," the concerto for trombone and orchestra by Norwegian singer and composer Maja S. K. Ratkje, the soloist is encouraged to follow his high ambitions and thus make the music fly.
And for "Ediacaran Fields," Australian composer Cathy Milliken was inspired by 500-million-year-old fossils from a South Australian site. In her music, she not only evokes the magic of a world where animal creatures and plant organisms coexist peacefully in a maritime environment, but also gives the audience an active role in her piece!
Tickets are CHF 24-79 for adults, half price for youths up to age 25 and students, and CHF 5 for kids up to age 12.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps