Chamber Orchestra I Tempi — Capriccioso

Don Bosco Basel
© aram ohanian
Saturday, 02 September

The chamber orchestra I TEMPI celebrates its 10th anniversary with works full of lightness, joie de vivre, and joy of playing. The concert will open with Felix Mendelssohn's "Capriccio" from his Four Pieces for String Quartet, op. 81. Additionally, the first part of the concert features Camille Saint-Saëns' brilliant pieces "Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso" and Pablo de Sarasate’s Concert Fantasy on Georges Bizet's opera "Carmen." Saint-Saëns was the most famous French composer of the Belle Époque—that era of new joie de vivre that began in France after the lost war against Prussia and after the end of the Second Empire in 1871. The virtuoso violin piece full of light-hearted charm and piquant dance rhythms of the opéra-bouffe was a youthful work by Saint-Saëns, who was not yet 30. de Sarasate is considered the epitome of the late 19th-century Mediterranean violin virtuoso. Composed around 1883, his Concert Fantasy based on Bizet's opera "Carmen" suits Sarasate's fondness for Spanish dances and gypsy tunes. He instinctively grasped the appeal of Bizet's melodies, which he transformed into a firework of virtuosic passages and long, spun melody arcs.
The second half of the concert features works by Joseph Suk and Antonín Dvořák. Suk wrote his wildly popular, colorful Serenade while studying with Dvořák at the Prague Conservatory. Dvořák gave him the task of writing something easy for the serenade, since his previous works had a rather melancholic tone. The concert program also includes two heart, enchanting waltzes by Dvořák himself.
Tickets are CHF 33-80 for adults and CHF 10 for students.


Don Bosco Basel
Waldenburgerstrasse 34
4052 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps