Collegium Musicum Concert — Aufbruch (Departure)

Stadtcasino Basel
© judith schlosser
Saturday, 22 June

In their Brahms cycle, the Collegium Musicum Basel performs his Piano Concert No. 1, followed by his Symphony No. 1—a powerful work that is said to have almost driven Brahms crazy when he created it. “I will never compose a symphony. You have no idea how we feel when we hear such a giant [Beethoven] marching behind us," he wrote to a friend. Beethoven's legacy weighed heavily on the young composer—how could anything else in this genre be composed after the 9th Symphony? But great searching was followed by even greater finding. The result was a powerful and highly complex symphony that would have a lasting impact on the further course of music history.
At the beginning of the concert, the no less famous “Arpeggione Sonata” by Franz Schubert, arranged for cello and orchestra by Antonio Tusa, will be masterfully played by Thomas Demenga, as well as Schubert’s overture to the opera “Fierrabas.”
Tickets are CHF 50.80-86.50 for adults and CHF 15.80 for youths and students.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps