Collegium Musicum Concert — Virtuosic Flights of Fancy

Stadtcasino Basel
Friday, 22 March

Under the title “Virtuose Höhenflüge” (Virtuosic Flights of Fancy), Collegium Musicum under the direction of Kerem Hasan and with violinist Dmitry Smirnov, presents works by Piotr Ilych Tchaikovsky and Jean Sibelius. No violin concerto is better known than that of the Russian composer Tchaikovsky—it is bursting with joy of life and delights audiences all over the world with its virtuosic solo flights and colorful passages. Tchaikovsky wrote it in 1878 in the picturesque village of Clarens on Lake Geneva, where he was recovering from a nervous breakdown. The peace and beauty of the place gave him fresh energy, which audibly manifested itself in his cheerfully effervescent concert. Sibelius's Fifth Symphony has a completely different origin—it was composed in 1915 as a commission from the Finnish government for Sibelius's 50th birthday, which was ceremoniously declared a Finnish national holiday. It also enjoys a fresh compositional swing, namely towards Sibelius’ own roots: in times of modernity—Ravel, Stravinsky, and Schönberg send their regards—Sibelius decided after a long struggle with himself to remain true to his traditional style and to go his own way with conviction.
Tickets are CHF 50.80-86.50 for adults and CHF 15.80 for youths and students.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps