Mahler — A Sound Installation

Don Bosco Basel
Monday, 31 October

In their Don Bosco’s Garden concert series, the Kammerorchester Basel’s (Chamber Orchestra) concert laboratory researches Gustav Mahler's Symphony No. 4 in the chamber music version by Klaus Simon—and nothing will be as you know it.
For many visitors, the classical concert is a safe space, an immanent system, self-contained, with clear rules. Here you can forget the stressful everyday life. Sit down, listen, enjoy. Kammerorchester Basel’s new concert series, Don Bosco's Garden, offers something different. The concert laboratory challenges listeners and musicians to change their perspectives and leave the usual framework behind to allow for a new listening experience.
Even during his lifetime, Mahler's music broke the mold; especially his Symphony No. 4, especially the 4th symphony no longer presented a harmonious unit. It includes influences foreign to classical music, such as animal sounds, fanfares, or folk music, and breaks with the expectation of the usual harmony.
The piece is almost perfect for Don Bosco's Gardenthe musicians disassembled the symphony, with small ensembles playing fragments of the symphony’s chamber music version in the small rooms under the large Paul Sacher Hall. These sonic installations will focus on individual instruments. The listeners can move freely between all the spaces and a collage is created from this dismembered material, bundled by the sound artist Janiv Oron. A completely new sound is created with reduced instrumentation, paired with electronics. And at the end you will still hear the 4th symphony in Simon’s chamber music version.
Tickets are CHF 30 for adults and CHF 15 for students.


Don Bosco Basel
Waldenburgerstrasse 34
4052 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps