Shostakovich Unfiltered — Introspective Meditation on Mortality

Don Bosco Basel
Friday, 22 September

Dimitri Shostakovich wrote his String Quartet No. 15 when he was already severely ill and aware of his own and his fellow musicians' mortality. The quartet—an adagio in six movements—is audibly a work of farewell and resignation. The music is clearly reduced and turned inward, the composer's heavy breathing is audible, the "dying" viola solo at the end finishes the piece.
But his music made Shostakovich immortal and leaves the listener in musical bliss despite the difficult subject matter.
The Kammerorchester Basel (Chamber Orchestra Basel) will be playing this piece for the first concert in this season’s late-night series entitled, “Nachtklang” (Night Sounds). Also on the program are John Zorn's "Kol Nidre for String Quartet" and excerpts from Ludwig van Beethoven's String Quartet No. 13.
Tickets are CHF 25 for adults and CHF 13 for youths and students.


Don Bosco Basel
Waldenburgerstrasse 34
4052 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps