Sinfonieorchester Basel — Fanny & Felix

Stadtcasino Basel
© pia clodi / peaches & mint
Wednesday, 20 December

This program by the Sinfonieorchester Basel under the direction of Ivor Bolton highlights works by two female composers of the 19th century. It is hard to imagine today that 200 years ago, a public female composer was unacceptable. Fanny Hensel (née Mendelssohn) was made aware of this repeatedly by her brother, Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy; her father; and her husband. Her Overture in C major was even published under the name of her brother, who addressed her in letters as “liebste Fenchel” (dearest fennel).
Louise Farrenc was the first female composer to be supported by her husband. In 1842, she was appointed to the position of first professor of piano at the Paris Conservatoire. Her 3rd Symphony, written shortly after, was a great success. It was rediscovered only a few years ago and is gaining a firmer place in the concert repertoire each year.
Rounding out the program is Mendelssohn Bartholdy’s Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in e minor, with María Dueñas as the soloist.
Tickets are CHF 35-105 for adults and half price for students.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps