Sinfonieorchester Basel — Rach 150

Stadtcasino Basel
© pia clodi / peaches & mint

The Sinfonieorchester Basel with conductor Robert Trevino and violinist Frank Peter Zimmermann will be performing two owkrs by Igor Strawinsky and Sergei Rachmaninoff on this evening. When Rachmaninoff’s famous piano concertos are performed, pianists knowingly refer to them as “Rach 2” or “Rach 3.” To mark the 150th anniversary of the composer's birth, this concert program includes a work that is equally indebted to the musical melancholy of late Romantic Russia. Rachmaninov's Symphony No. 2 arose like a phoenix from the ashes of the disastrous premiere of his Symphony No. 1. Plagued by a deep crisis of meaning, Rachmaninoff found seclusion and tranquility in Dresden in 1906/07 in order to dare to tackle the supreme discipline of the symphony again after 12 years. The result is a work between transfigured melancholy and life-affirming euphoria—a mixture that the Russian composer maintained even during his forced exile in America and in Weggis, Lucerne.
Switzerland was also a place of refuge for Stravinsky, and he regularly stayed on Lake Geneva from 1910 onwards. The composer slipped into many different styles during his creative period; for his only violin concerto, for example, he explored baroque forms. It was premiered in 1931 at the Berlin radio station as one of the first live broadcasts of the Reichsrundfunkgesellschaft of the time.
Tickets are CHF 35-105 for adults and half price for students.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps