Swiss Orchestra — Searching for Traces of the Swiss Symphony

Stadtcasino Basel
© dominic buettner
Saturday, 04 November

On its Tour No. 7, the Swiss Orchestra under the direction of Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer, goes on a "search for traces" of Swiss symphonic music. Especially for the performance of Symphony No. 1 by the Lucerne composer Franz Xaver Schnyder von Wartensee, original manuscripts were transferred into modern musical notation—that is, taken out of the archives and made experienceable for a broad audience. The work was composed around 1820 during great social and political upheavals. The same applies to Robert Schumann's overture "Hermann und Dorothea" (1851) and Camille Saint-Saëns' Cello Concerto No. 1 (1872), which are also on the program. This is rounded out by a sonically innovative Cello Concerto (1882) by Marie Jaëll, an esteemed student of Saint-Saëns. The Swiss Orchestra thus presents a diverse cross-section of the Romantic era, with an audibly broad range of personal, national, and political influences. The soloist in the cello concertos is Raphaela Gromes, one of the most successful German instrumentalists of the present day.
Tickets are CHF 40-90.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps