Swiss Orchestra with Michael Barenboim — Sweet Dreams

Stadtcasino Basel
© dominic buettner
Saturday, 13 May

In its Tour No. 6, the Swiss Orchestra juxtaposes works by Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy and Antonio Vivaldi with the Violin Concerto by Swiss composer Hermann Suter, which was dedicated to Adolf Busch, and the Suite "Le Livre d'Images" by George Templeton Strong, who was born in New York and settled in Geneva. In this way, the orchestra creates unconventional arcs between unknown and newly discovered works, between absolute music and program music, and between Baroque concerto grosso and late Romantic orchestral sound. One of the most exciting violinists of our time—Michael Barenboim—accompanies the Swiss Orchestra under the direction of Lena-Lisa Wüstendörfer.
Tickets are CHF 40-90 for adults and half price for students up to age 30.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps