Symphony Concert — Boléro

Stadtcasino Basel
© evgeny eutykhov
Wednesday, 24 May

An apotheosis of dance from Gigues, Bolero, Rondes de Printemps, and Jota surrounds Pjotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 on this evening. French conductor Pierre Bleuse brings a colorful potpourri of orchestral music with French elegance and Spanish passion for his debut with the Sinfonieorchester Basel. Manuel de Falla composed his suite “The Three-Cornered Hat” in 1919 for the London-based Ballets Russes. The use of Spanish rhythms and instrumental colors brings the work close to Claude Debussy's “Images pour Orchestre” and Maurice Ravel's “Boléro.” Ravel remarked about his most successful work to fellow composer Arthur Honegger: "I have made only one masterpiece, that is the “Boléro;” unfortunately, it contains no music." He is not entirely wrong—there is only a single rhythmic model throughout 15 minutes, repeated 169 times. The ecstatic force that emerges from this is unique. There will be a concert introduction by Lea Vaterlaus at 18:30.
Tickets are CHF 35-105 for adults; half price for students.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps