Symphony Concert — Viol(a)ence in Heaven

Stadtcasino Basel
© irène zandel
Wednesday, 21 September

Mahler's Symphony No. 4 comes across as heavenly light and almost too harmless. The basic mood of the piece is like the "undifferentiated blue of the sky, which is more difficult to hit than all changing and contrasting inks," the composer said. At the latest during the soprano solo in the final movement, which speaks drastically of the "butcher Herod," it becomes clear that this sky can also darken.
The history of the symphonic movement “Blumine,” in contrast, is full of mystery: Once part of his Symphony No. 1, Mahler deleted the movement after only a few performances during a thorough revision of the work. After being lost for a long time, “Blumine” was unearthed again in 1966; the work has since been performed as a separate piece.
Can violas sob? The German composer Walter Braunfels proves that. The premiere of his “Schottische Phantasie” was banned in 1933 under the reorganisation of German cultural life. The work counters with lightness and sunny rapture—its source of inspiration was Scotland.
The Sinfonieorchester Basel under the direction of Markus Poschner presents these works with soprano Nikola Hillebrand and violist Nils Mönkemeyer.
Tickets are CHF 35-105 and half price for students.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps