Ulysses Quartet (New York)

Stadtcasino Basel
Tuesday, 31 January

The Ulysses Quartet is a professional string quartet based in New York City. The group's name pays homage to Homer's hero Odysseus and his 10-year voyage home, as well as to former U.S. President Ulysses S. Grant, near whose resting place in Upper Manhattan several of the group's members reside. The Ulysses Quartet has been praised for their “textural versatility,” “grave beauty,” and “the kind of chemistry many quartets long for, but rarely achieve” (The Strad), as well as their “avid enthusiasm ... [with] chops to back up their passion” (San Diego Story), “delivered with a blend of exuberance and polished artistry” (The Buffalo News). Consisting of violinists Christina Bouey and Rhiannon Banerdt, violist Colin Brookes, and cellist Grace Ho, the quartet’s members hail from Canada, the United States, and Taiwan. They have performed in such prestigious venues as Carnegie Hall, the Harbin Grand Theatre, Jordan Hall, and the Taiwan National Recital Hall.
On this evening, they will be playing Frangis Ali-Sade’s “Raeqs (Dance) for String Quartet;” Joseph Summer’s “ Sonnet CXXVIII (How often, when thou, my music, music play'st) for Soprano and Violin” to a text by William Shakespeare; Pavel Hass’ String Quartet with Percussion No. 2, op. 7 “From the Mountain of Apes;” and Ludwig van Beethoven’s String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, op. 132.
Tickets are 38-68 for adults, CHF 28-58 for students, and CHF 5 for youths under age 20.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps