Symphony Concert — Liszts Faust

Stadtcasino Basel
© pia clodi, peaches & mint

The Sinfonieorchester Basel opens their new season with this concert entitled “Liszt’s Fist.” The myth of Doctor Faust, with his greed for knowledge and power and his lust for amorous escapades, has not lost its fascination to this day. His inability to enjoy the moment of happiness leads to the devil's pact with Mephisto. Franz Liszt composed an entire symphony about the story, without claiming to set Goethe's literary model to music. In three large-scale movements that characterize Faust, Gretchen, and Mephisto, Liszt wanted to make the spiritual content of “Faust” audible.
Also on the program is Lili Boulanger's “24th Psalm,” the marvel of a 22-year-old composer who unfortunately died much too young. And with “The Lark Ascending” by Ralph Vaughan Williams, written almost at the same time, Pekka Kuusisto will have his first appearance of the season as "Artist in Residence" of the Sinfonieorchester Basel.
Tickets are CHF 35-105.


Stadtcasino Basel
Konzertgasse 1
4051 Basel

Add to Calendar

Google maps